The "Resilience and Territorial Innovation" cycle (RTI)

Climate change, air pollution and environmental degradation, resource scarcity, growing inequalities, pandemics… Acknowledging that territories are and will be disrupted by major phenomena – and that they will have to adapt to these changes – the Paris Institute for Advanced Study (IAS), the Paris School of Urban Engineering (EIVP) and the City of Paris have been working together since 2018 on an intersectoral and transdisciplinary research program. This program aims to produce innovative knowledge and to provide local and regional administrations, companies and citizens with tools to prepare for and cope with these transformations.

Territorial resilience: an inclusive definition

The concept of resilience is defined differently by various actors in interrelated fields (sustainable development, climate change adaptation, social inclusion, etc.). Territorial resilience is understood here as the capacity of all stakeholders to maintain a satisfactory operating state by adapting and preparing for the major shocks (floods, heat waves, terrorism, pandemics, etc.) and chronic

stresses (pollution, climate changes, resource scarcity, human migration, etc.) that the territory is or will be confronted to in the decades to come. This broad definition was chosen purposefully, to enable a constructive dialogue between specialists in different fields.

 

The future Chair

The Paris Institute for Advanced Study, the City of Paris (General Secretariat for Ecological Transition and Resilience), and the Paris School of Urban Engineering are working together towards establishing a Chair on"Resilience and Territorial Innovation". The purpose of this chair will be knowledge capitalization and the analysis of steering and assessment processes for resilience policies and projects. Over an initial period of 5 years and based on real cases of territorial innovation, it will offer an innovative open-source exchange and reflection platform for all types of stakeholders. With the best researchers in humanities, social sciences, and engineering sciences worldwide, the chair will aim to develop know-how, to establish a knowledge community and to create a common toolbox.

The past events

As a prologue to the future chair, a series of seminars and workshops was initiated at the Paris IAS in October 2019. On a regular basis, it has brought together researchers, policy makers, civil servants, economic and civil society actors to discuss the different dimensions of territorial resilience and the specific issues of assessment and indicators.

LAUNCHING SEMINAR

Assessing Territorial Resilience: Issues and Challenges

October 1st 2019, at the Paris IAS

Assessing Territorial Resilience: Issues and Challenges

Is it possible to assess the resilience, ownership or capacity of territories eminently complex and evolving? How can we measure the impact of public policies or projects aimed at increasing resilience in its various aspects (social, environmental, technical, etc.)? Can indicators be developed and if so, what are they? Should other methods be favoured (surveys, qualitative approaches, etc.)?

THEMATIC SEMINAR

Adaptation and resilience of infrastructures and networks: anticipation and coordination

November 4th 2019, at the Paris IAS

Adaptation and resilience of infrastructures and networks: anticipation and coordination

This seminar brought together experts in the field to produce a list of questions that will be discussed in workshops on 6 and 7 February 2020 with a view to launching research projects. The objective is to allow a broad participation of all actors involved in these themes and exchanges between researchers, practitioners and decision-makers.

THEMATIC SEMINAR

Human Factors of Territorial Resilience: Individual Readiness and Social Cohesion

December 10th 2019, at the Paris IAS

Human Factors of Territorial Resilience: Individual Readiness and Social Cohesion

If the physical and technical layer of the territory has an undeniable role in the resilience of the whole, the human, social and societal dimensions are increasingly recognized as essential both in the construction of problems and in their resolution.  The 100 Resilient Cities initiative states that "a strong social fabric is the necessary foundation for communities and individuals to be able to cope with whatever may happen and to come out of it in the best possible way".

THEMATIC SEMINAR

Territorial resilience: how are modes of governance evolving?

February 6th 2020, at the Paris IAS

Territorial resilience: how are modes of governance evolving?

To address this multidimensional and complex issue, the seminar chose to explore a "macro/meso/micro" cut: Who decides what at what level? How is the monitoring and evaluation of the development of regulations and their implementation carried out? What is the room for manoeuvre at the territorial level? What are the blocking factors? What can be improved? These questions will be discussed based on concrete examples.

WORKSHOPS

Technical, social, political: an inventory of indicators of territorial resilience

February 6th and 7th 2020, at the Paris IAS

Technical, social, political: an inventory of indicators of territorial resilience

The themes of the three workshops are:
1) Resilience and adaptation in the field of buildings and technical networks,
2) Human and Social Factors of Territorial Resilience
and 3) Organization and governance of intersectoral projects for resilience.

Le cycle "Résilience et Innovation Territoriale" (RIT)

Partageant le constat que les territoires sont et seront bouleversés par des phénomènes majeurs – dérèglement climatique, pollution de l’air et dégradation de l’environnement, raréfaction des ressources, inégalités croissantes, pandémies... – l’IEA de Paris, l’École des ingénieurs de la Ville de Paris (EIVP) et la Ville de Paris s’associent depuis 2018 autour d’un programme de recherche intersectorielle et transdisciplinaire. Celui-ci vise à produire des connaissances innovantes et à fournir aux collectivités, entreprises et citoyens des outils pour se préparer et faire face à ces bouleversements.

 

Une approche inclusive de la résilience territoriale

 

Le concept de résilience connaît des définitions variables selon les acteurs. Dans un souci de permettre un dialogue constructif entre les spécialistes de différents domaines (développement durable, inclusivité, adaptation, transition écologique…),  le programme et cycle « Résilience et Innovation Territoriale » opte pour une acception large du terme. La résilience est envisagée comme la capacité des territoires et de tous leurs acteurs à maintenir un état satisfaisant de fonctionnement par

l’adaptation et la préparation aux chocs majeurs (inondations, canicules, terrorisme, pandémies, etc.) et stress chroniques (pollutions, transition climatique, raréfaction des ressources, phénomènes migratoires, etc.) auxquels ils sont ou seront potentiellement confrontés aujourd’hui et dans les décennies à venir.

 

Le projet de chaire

L’Institut d’études avancées de Paris, la Délégation Générale à la Transition Écologique et à la Résilience de la Ville de Paris et l’École des Ingénieurs de la Ville de Paris construisent ensemble la Chaire « Résilience et Innovation Territoriale ». Celle-ci aura pour objectif, sur une période de 5 ans, la capitalisation des connaissances et la formalisation et l’analyse des processus de pilotage et d’évaluation des politiques de résilience. À partir de l’analyse de cas concrets d’innovation territoriale, en collaboration avec les meilleurs chercheurs en sciences humaines et sociales et en sciences pour l’ingénieur au niveau mondial, la chaire proposera une plate-forme innovante de partage et de réflexion open source à destination de tous types d’acteurs pour construire des savoir-faire, une communauté de savoirs et une boîte à outils commune.

Les événements passés

Préfigurant cette future chaire, un cycle de séminaires et d’ateliers a été lancé début octobre 2019 à l’IEA de Paris. Il a réuni régulièrement chercheur·e·s, responsables politiques, administrateurs·trices et agents public·ques, monde économique et société civile autour des différentes dimensions de la résilience territoriale en soulevant toujours les questions d’évaluation et d’indicateurs.

SEMINAIRE DE LANCEMENT

Évaluer la résilience des territoires : problèmes et enjeux

Le 1er octobre 2019, à l'IEA de Paris

Évaluer la résilience des territoires : problèmes et enjeux

Peut-on évaluer la résilience, une propriété ou une capacité des territoires éminemment complexe et évolutive ? Comment mesurer l'impact des politiques publiques ou des projets visant à accroître la résilience dans ses différents aspects (social, environnemental, technique, etc.) ? Peut-on développer des indicateurs et si oui, quels sont-ils ? Faut-il privilégier d'autres méthodes (enquêtes, approches qualitatives, etc.) ?

SEMINAIRE THEMATIQUE

Adaptation et résilience des infrastructures et des réseaux : anticipation et coordination

Le 4 novembre 2019, à l'IEA de Paris

Adaptation et résilience des infrastructures et des réseaux : anticipation et coordination

Ce séminaire a rassemblé des experts du domaine afin de produire une liste de questions qui seront discutées dans des ateliers les 6 et 7 février 2020 en vue de lancer des projets de recherche. L'objectif est de permettre une large participation de tous les acteurs impliqués dans ces thèmes et des échanges entre chercheurs, praticiens et décideurs.

SEMINAIRE THEMATIQUE

Facteurs humains de la résilience territoriale : préparation individuelle et cohésion sociale

Le 10 décembre 2019, à l'IEA de Paris

Facteurs humains de la résilience territoriale : préparation individuelle et cohésion sociale

Si la couche physique et technique du territoire a un rôle indéniable dans la résilience de l'ensemble, les dimensions humaine, sociale et sociétale sont de plus en plus reconnues comme essentielles tant dans la construction des problèmes que dans leur résolution.  L'initiative 100 Resilient Cities affirme qu'"un tissu social solide est le fondement nécessaire pour que les communautés et les individus puissent faire face à tout ce qui peut arriver et en sortir de la meilleure façon possible".

SEMINAIRE THEMATIQUE

Résilience territoriale : comment les modes de gouvernance évoluent-ils ?

Le 6 février 2020, à l'IEA de Paris

Résilience territoriale : comment les modes de gouvernance évoluent-ils ?

Pour aborder cette question multidimensionnelle et complexe, le séminaire a choisi d'explorer une coupe "macro/meso/micro" : Qui décide de quoi à quel niveau ? Comment s'effectue le suivi et l'évaluation de l'élaboration des règlements et de leur mise en œuvre ? Quelle est la marge de manœuvre au niveau territorial ? Quels sont les facteurs de blocage ? Qu'est-ce qui peut être amélioré ? Ces questions seront discutées à partir d'exemples concrets.

ATELIERS

Techniques, sociaux, politiques : un état des lieux des indicateurs de la résilience territoriale

Les 6 et 7 février 2020, à l'IEA de Paris

Techniques, sociaux, politiques : un état des lieux des indicateurs de la résilience territoriale

Les thèmes des trois ateliers sont :

1) Résilience et adaptation dans le domaine des bâtiments et des réseaux techniques,

2) Facteurs humains et sociaux de la résilience territoriale

et 3) Organisation et gouvernance des projets intersectoriels pour la résilience.